Beautiful Work

Let the beauty of the Lord our God be upon us, and establish the work of our hands…. Psalm 90:17a

Healthy Snacks Week September 28, 2009

Filed under: Recipes — Andie @ 12:14 pm

Would you believe that I have been sneaking spinach into my kids snacks?  I know that green smoothies are not a new idea. But, I have just now started making them several times a week so that I can rest assured that my kids are getting the fruits and veggies I want them to. I got my recipe from Passionate Homemaking. I have copied the recipe and her comments from that site and below I make notes for any adaptations I have made.

Green Smoothies

Combine:

Blend and add a little stevia or honey to sweeten and any additional boosters.

1 1/2 cups of liquids (I usually use a combination of water, coconut milk, and kefir)
3 oz or more fresh greens, which is approximately half a bag or 3 large handfuls (spinach or kale are best!) –start with smaller quantities and work you way up!
2-3 Tbsp orange juice concentrate, optional (this is a more frugal alternative than using pre-mixed juices – it stretches the juice further)

After these ingredients are thoroughly blended, you can add an assortment of fruit.

Here are our favorite additions:

1/2-1 cup Frozen strawberries or raspberries
1 Banana
1/2 cup Frozen Blueberries
1/4 cup Frozen Pineapple
2-3 Frozen Peach slices

I have also used canned pears on occasion as well.

Andie’s notes:

-I make sure to blend the spinach in with the liquids first until the pieces are barely noticeable.  Then, it is safe to add the rest of the ingredients. I almost always use 1 cup kefir from Trader Joes (TJs). It is a little spendy, but I only use a cup per smoothie and then water.  Someday, I will get brave and make my own kefir.

-Kefir is good for digestive health. Multiple probiotics.

-I use frozen spinach when  I don’t have fresh. But, ALDI carries bags of spinach for cheap, so that’s not too spendy. ALDI also has many of the frozen fruits reasonably priced.

-Color of these can vary. If you add a strawberry or blueberry addition, add enough so it doesn’t turn that ugly brown color. :) Though, I have found that my kids will eat it even if it’s ugly!

-You seriously can’t taste the spinach.  The frozen concentrated orange juice really  covers the taste.

-Banana, Pineapple and coconut milk (99 cents cans at TJ’s) blend really yummy and will result in a green colored smoothie.

 

4 Responses to “Healthy Snacks Week”

  1. briannekopp Says:

    Have any of you tried making your own, healthy version of granola bars? I haven’t been able to try it yet, because of allergy-boy, but I hear they can be really good…and not too hard to make (then you have BUNCHES of them too!)

  2. Andie Says:

    I’ve seen a really yummy looking recipe for Cranberry White Chocolate ones sitting on Gretchen’s counter. Would you put that recipe up sometime, G?

  3. Leah Says:

    I have a recipe that is amazingly similar to the Nature Valley Fruit and Nut Bars. I’ll post it up.
    :-)

  4. Leah Says:

    Okay scratch that, I apparently donated the book (or gave it to someone to borrow and can’t remember who) that it’s in. BUT, I will post a link to the book, it had LOTS of homemade snack ideas that are all uber healthy.
    :-)L


Leave a Reply

