Beautiful Work

Let the beauty of the Lord our God be upon us, and establish the work of our hands…. Psalm 90:17a

Excuses Excuses September 7, 2009

Filed under: fitness — Andie @ 5:56 am


Light Ballet Workout

Originally uploaded by little_bowtie

So, I feel like I’ve been making a lot of excuses for not having my posts up on Mondays….. but this week I really have a good one! We found out last week that our adoption profile got chosen and that God-willing, we will have a baby boy around Thanksgiving! We are very excited and looking forward to meeting our son. We’ll keep you posted as things develop.

This week’s topic is perfect with this post title, by the way. Our topic is how we fit in exercise as whams. And boy, there are lots of excuses for this one, aren’t there! This part of my life is always morphing, but for now, I do have a plan that is working well for me. This is how I make exercise happen right now (and I fully realize that this plan will not work anymore when a newborn arrives!)

I have a goal date– Oct 10, I will be running (and maybe walking some!) a 5K here in Minneapolis. Several friends are doing this and Andrew is going to do it with me, too. It’s motivating to have a certain date where I need to be able to run 3 miles. This helps me keep going on days when I don’t feel like running. I decided to take up running for awhile because I’m trying to break through the plateau I’ve been at for about 1 1/2 years with my weight. I held onto much more than I’d like after Byron’s birth.

I do it with friends– I can’t do my running with friends because of schedule and children, but I am motivated by the fact that others are also running the 5K. It helps that my closest friend, my husband, is doing the race too. While we don’t run together (only one jogging stroller), we can have this as a common goal. Also, a few mornings a week, I drag myself out of bed early and walk across the street to do a stretching program with a friend. I doubt if I could make myself do this without knowing that someone was waiting for me.

I have found something I love with variety- I don’t really love running. But I do love Pilates type stuff. Classical Stretch has been a good and thorough stretching and strengthening program. I bought a whole season from a few years ago. It has 26 episodes to keep things fresh.

 

Leave a Reply

