Beautiful Work

Let the beauty of the Lord our God be upon us, and establish the work of our hands…. Psalm 90:17a

kid’s art August 12, 2009

Filed under: Homemaking,Mothering — Kate @ 4:15 pm

With children at the ages of almost 4 and 2 1/2, I must admit that I have not saved ANY artwork thus far for either of them!   Right now we are into coloring papers, not yet drawing things, or putting stickers on things and calling it artwork. :)  I do have a paper pad full of paintings that they have done, but haven’t moved any of them into the ‘I must keep this’ category even in my head yet!

I have seen a number of ideas for displaying kids artwork around the home that I hope to put into play in the coming years.  One of my favorite ideas is having a large clothes pin for each child with their name on it (and possibly decorated by them … isn’t this one cute?!) on a wall or mantel that you can easily clip the current favorite project in for display.  You could also go with a clothesline approach for more projects if you have the wall space :)

For long term storage and memories, I do LOVE the idea of doing a photo book for each child … maybe one per year, or maybe a 3-ring binder that could be added to over time.  Besides pictures of the actual artwork, I enjoy the pictures that I have of my kids actually DOING the art too!  So if projects are done at home, don’t forget to capture some of the those creative juices on film!  The other reason I like the pictures of the kids WITH their artwork is because it puts the art into a little perspective with how big/old/mature they were when they did it.  Right now I feel like I will ALWAYS remember exactly what my daughter is like at age 2 1/2, but I know that all too quickly I can forget exactly what she is capable of as she grows and learns more each day!

 

Leave a Reply

