Beautiful Work

Let the beauty of the Lord our God be upon us, and establish the work of our hands…. Psalm 90:17a

Confessions of a blogger-mom. August 11, 2009

Filed under: Homemaking,Mothering — Leah @ 6:00 am

Okay, so I confess I suggested this topic to the other gals because I would like your ideas!  I would like to save things that my children make along the way (first time they actually spell their name or draw the family or ??) and I don’t have the first clue how to start doing it.  I do NOT scrapbook, nor do I anticipate starting anytime in my life…I don’t have a lot of space to commit to the plethora of things that I am sure will be considered for saving through the years.  One suggestion I heard was to use a portable hanging folder basket (one for each kid) and save things by year or grade or ?? in the different folders.  Does anyone use a method similar to this?  What’s working for you in this department?  Please share!

 

4 Responses to “Confessions of a blogger-mom.”

  1. Andie Says:

    Do you feel like you have to have the actual things? What if you did digital photos and then just made each kid a photo album instead of a scrapbook? They also have scrapbooks where you don’t do the whole cut and paste thing, but more 3 ring binder style where you can put pages with room to slide 6 pics on some pages and then plastic sleeves to slide the actual artwork in. This would just be your “filing” method, but would actually be able to be enjoyed by each kid as their own project book.

  2. Sarah Says:

    My mom saved my school projects and artwork highlights in a plastic hanging file bin sorted by year – and I have fun going through it every few years when we are moving or reorganizing. Having the originals brings back so many memories for me.

  3. Jane Says:

    I left a link with a post I wrote about today regarding what we found has worked for school papers. Thanks for this post! With school starting very soon it’s time to find a system for all of those papers that will soon be flooding the kitchen counter! :)

  4. Jenn Says:

    Check out http://www.alltogetherbeautiful.blogspot.com

    she just posted a thing on there today about childrens school work! She has such a GREAT idea, and I think it would be perfect for you!

    Good luck!!


Leave a Reply

