Beautiful Work

Let the beauty of the Lord our God be upon us, and establish the work of our hands…. Psalm 90:17a

Moon Sand- we made it! July 17, 2009

Filed under: Activities,Mothering,Uncategorized — Leah @ 6:00 am

My kids have been eyeing the ever-so-overpriced “MoonSand” at stores lately…so when I ran across this post earlier this week I decided it was a perfect summer outdoor activity for us to do someday.  Then I realized it would be over 90 degrees here (that’s a screaming HOT day for us Portlanders) and my husband would be laid up with day 2 of some strange GI bug- I decided today was the day for MoonSand.

We hit Walmart and bought blue sand ($6.44 for 20 lbs) in the garden area- next to the turtle sandbox things) and some extra cornstarch.  The “recipe” used about 1/4 to 1/3 of the bag of sand and one box of cornstarch.  So, over all my moonsand cost less than $3.00 to make and my kids each had PLENTY to play with.IMG_3538IMG_3539
I put out a bowl of water for them to wash their hands before they came inside (it seems there is always a valid reason to come in when you have dirty hands, right?) and they played with it for HOURS (no joke) today.  Happy Summer!

 

Leave a Reply

