Beautiful Work

Let the beauty of the Lord our God be upon us, and establish the work of our hands…. Psalm 90:17a

The good, the bad and the ugly June 26, 2009

Filed under: Mothering,Products we like — Kate @ 10:07 am

Here are a few of my reviews on baby/kid items that we have used!

The Good:

One of my favorite baby things was our bouncy seat!  We were given a seat before the birth of our first and then given another at the birth of our second.  They are a life saver when it comes to doing things with 2 hands while your baby is awake, like blow drying your hair, folding laundry or showering (and they can be good  for napping a gassy baby too!)  They DO both have buckle for holding your baby in place too, if you are not keeping an eye on them or holding a photo shoot  ;)  Just like most baby things, you can find a full range of styles and prices, but really, I think the $25 Fisher-Price one did the job well, even if it is a bit of an eye sore!

Maclaren Rocker . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Fisher-Price Bouncer

Fisher-Price Bouncer

Maclaren Rocker.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Another simple, classic hit around here has been the Ikea Block Wagon.  I’m not sure if you can still get it, but here is a similar one by Melissa & Doug.  It was so fun to see our son’s mind go to work with stacking the blocks, pulling the wagon and just playing with something a little simpler than most of the toys out there today!

Ikea Block Wagon

The Bad:

I did not have much success with these bowls by Munchkin.  The idea was nice, but my kids thought it was more fun to try to get the bowl up off the tray/table which resulted in some big messes as the bowl reluctantly released!  Having some covered bowls is great for taking homemade baby food on the road and I found that the set of 2 for $.97 at Walmart did wonderfully!

suction cup bowlsThe Ugly:

I had to use this cute title, but I must admit I haven’t run across anything that I swore I would never use again (or at least I can’t remember it)!  I do echo Leah’s sentiments about the Desitin cream … leave it and pick up the ointment instead!  You can even go for the generic A+D ointment and have great results!

 

Leave a Reply

