Beautiful Work

Let the beauty of the Lord our God be upon us, and establish the work of our hands…. Psalm 90:17a

Like it, Love it, or Leave it… June 25, 2009

Filed under: Products we like — Leah @ 3:33 pm

Here are my takes on some great…and not so great….baby/kid products.  I hope you find it helpful!

beco

Love it: The Beco Butterfly II child carrier. I LOVE THIS product.  Can I say it again? I LOVE IT!!  We used Bjorn baby carriers with the twins and thought they were a pretty nifty product with pretty good quality.  We even used a Bjorn with Miles for the first 6 months or so.  Then I found out about the Beco from one of my friends and after test-driving hers, fell in love and made it my mission to sell enough other random baby stuff on CL that I could buy myself a Beco carrier.  They blow the silly Bjorn out of the water.  They allow you to tote your child along until they are 45 lbs if you need to for some strange reason.  :-)  The downside?  They are pricey, but I personally think that they are SO worth it!  I can tote Miles with me on the front or the back (piggy back style) and not feel a thing in my lower back or shoulders for hours- seriously, for hours!!  The Beco is my new best friend in the baby product world.  Miles loves to hang out back there and I love not pushing a stroller though crowded areas or trying to store one in the back of the car.  Here is a site you can use to buy Beco returns and Beco seconds if you wish– that does ease the sticker shock a bit.

853cda3e-063d-4875-b0b8-ccddefeda516

Love it: Nalgene Everyday Grip-N-Gulp Water Bottle. We have these for the twins and love them.  They don’t break, they clean up well, they hold 12 oz of water, and they have a great loop for the kids to carry it by or to hook onto a carabiner with.  Plus, they come in fun colors.  :-)

.

.

.

.

.

.

product_56Love it: Johnson’s Buddies Soap. This is great!  There are often coupons for $3 off 3 Johnson’s baby products online, making buying three of these at a time  (often priced at .97 at Target)….FREE!  They’re great- they don’t require any adult help to get the suds going, they don’t slip out of your kid’s wet hands, and at FREE- it’s a great deal.  :-)

.

.

.

.

.

excersaucerLike it: The dreaded excersaucer. They take up TONS of space, but if you can snag one for under $10 off Craigslist or a garage sale, then I think it’s well worth the space and the $.   Speaking as a mom of multiples:  this is a MUST HAVE.  Speaking as a mom of a singlet: this is a take it or leave it.  :-)

.

.

.

.

.

.

disitinLeave it: Desitin. Poor Desitin, it gets used in the worst of places in the worst of times….and then it doesn’t even work very well.  Skip over the creamy stuff (blue box) and go strait for the Desistin Original (purple).  After trying a plethora of creams, we accidently bought some of the original when the twins were little and were pleasently shocked at it’s superiority to it’s creamy counterpart.  Our experience was that the creamy version does practically NOTHING and the original clears up the issue…litterally- overnight!  Happy bum= Happy baby.

 

6 Responses to “Like it, Love it, or Leave it…”

  1. andie Says:

    I’m so excited to have a good *cuter* alternative to the Ergo, which is also raved about in the same ways you mentioned.
    :) A

  2. Leah Says:

    Yes, the Ergo doesn’t do much in the style department, eh?
    :-)

  3. Karyn Meier Says:

    I was excited to see someone who had actually used that baby carrier that I knew! I just saw an ad in a magazine and checked out the website and they are soooo cute! My babe is getting a bit large for the front pack(ie. long legs) but he may enjoy riding on my back, if he can keep his hands off my hair! Have you done any hiking with this carrier?(Not that I’m in the market, but the Bjorn really hurts my body!)

  4. Leah Says:

    I haven’t done hiking with the Beco, but I’ve done HOURS on vacation and at the Zoo with it and it’s been a pain free experience so far. :-) We did own 2 Kelty hiker backpack child carrier things with the twins- and we sold out last one off to help pay for the Beco. In other words: I like the Beco better than the Bjorn AND the Kelty. It’s much more versatile. If you order from the link I gave (Frog Mama) you can try it and return it for another brand/style you like if you the initial one you try just isn’t for you. The mom that runs the site is my friend’s sister. :-) She’s SUPER knowledgeable about the plethora of baby carriers that are out there. Karen, I hook a toy on the strap back there to keep Miles out of my hair. It’s worked good so far.

  5. Julie Thiry Says:

    Hi Leah! So, I ran out and bought two nalgene guld n go’s today as I was at the mall, and I’ve been looking for a good sippy for the kids. Levi loves his, and carried it around ALL day. However, it’s super hard to suck water out of. My three year old doesn’t like it since he can barely get a drink. I tried it and was shocked at how much resistance there is (they didn’t put a vent hole anywhere I can see.) Do your kids not have a problem with this?

  6. Leah Says:

    Not this round. But I do vaguely remember them having some initial trouble the first time we bought them (long story on that one). They were much younger then, so maybe the age is a factor on this one. You might just take the valve out and use a knife or toothpick or something to open the cross-section a bit. It’s possible it’s just stiff until it gets some use.
    :-)


Leave a Reply

