Beautiful Work

Let the beauty of the Lord our God be upon us, and establish the work of our hands…. Psalm 90:17a

Summer Picnic Brainstorm June 8, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Gretchen @ 10:15 pm

I have never in my life been more excited for summer than this year!!!!!  We finished our first year of home schooling and we are tired and ready to play :)  My goal this summer is not to enroll my kids in a ton of camps and lessons and sports but to really just have fun together.  They will do the normal swim lessons and baseball so I do not think they will be missing out too much.  We are going to go hiking and exploring and maybe just play in the yard all day.  This post in just a brainstorm of easy meal ideas on the go.  I love cooking but am not so good at meals on the go.  Much of this list can be credited to my wonderful sister in law, Christa.  I would LOVE more ideas so lets fill up the comment section…

  • bagels and cream cheese
  • string cheese and lunch meat and crackers (make your own lunchable)
  • yogurt
  • use leftover grilled chicken and bagged salad to put wraps together
  • hot dogs
  • oil based/ marinade based salads – like the rice salad I posted earlier
  • hummus and bread
  • splurge on the pre cut apples at Costco and carrot sticks
  • fruit
  • muffins
 

6 Responses to “Summer Picnic Brainstorm”

  1. Mim Says:

    Here’s a link to a friend’s blog. http://jamsco.wordpress.com/2007/08/01/26-picnic-tips/ Their family picnics several times a week. Hope it helps with some ideas. This week we’ll be picnicing with some friends and one of the things I’ll be bringing is some trail mix I made last weekend. Enjoy your time together!

  2. Sarah Says:

    I like to slice a baguette in half (the long way) and lay meat/cheese on it, plus whatever condiments everyone likes. Then it can be sliced into individual sandwiches.

  3. Becca Says:

    I like using english muffins for peanut butter sandwiches. It’s just kind of fun twist on a boring sandwich. Something else that is yummy is either plan or caramel flavored rice cakes topped with peanut butter and sliced apples. PB is easy to put in a small container, and you don’t have to worry about it going bad if it sits in a backpack or in the car.

  4. jamsco Says:

    This is going to sound strange, but lately we have been bringing homemade pizzas on picnics. It’s a little hard to get there (we’ve saved a box from delivery) and it’s certainly not hot when we’re eating it, but it’s a simple food to eat once we’re there.

  5. Karen Says:

    GREAT post, and very timely for me! We’re reaching the finish line of what has seemed like an unending baseball season for our 13 year old son, and my kids are ready to weep if they see one more peanut butter sandwich!
    :-)

    Bagels! Why, oh why didn’t I think of that sooner??

    Another wrap that we’ve done is BLT wraps…they store well. Just use cream cheese instead of dressing to hold them together.

    Thanks again!
    (First time to your blog…)
    Karen, in WA state

  6. One of my favorites is a tortilla with cream cheese spread on it and then cheddar cheese sprinkled on it and then rolled up. Bring some salsa along to dip it in and you have a tasty meal. I’m sure there are lots of ways to vary this one up.

    I’ve heard lots about your blog and am glad I found it!

    -Anna


Leave a Reply

