Beautiful Work

Let the beauty of the Lord our God be upon us, and establish the work of our hands…. Psalm 90:17a

Tired, but Alive June 4, 2009

Filed under: Keeping inspired — Kate @ 6:00 am

So, with the thought that there are times where some extra rest is needed, there are also a few other things that I have found helpful as I try to not just make it through these times, but also thrive and live well in them.

  • Plan meals ahead of time. Sometimes this means having meals in the freezer so that Matt or I can just pull them out and be ready to go and sometimes this means planning something that I know Matt can pull together if I can’t do it.
  • Do what you can when you can. I know there are certain times of the day when I have more energy than others, so I try to plan to do the most during those times.  I also know that I work well under pressure, so I try to go ahead and plan things (in moderation) so that I have to get that bathroom cleaned or I have to get out of the house.
  • Make a point to serve. I try to find out things that Matt and the kids want to do and at least do those things.  Even if the house isn’t spotless, I can still seek to be a good wife and mother.  Sometimes it’s more important to sit down and play Candyland than it is to wash the dishes. :)
  • Get help. Being willing to ask for help when you need it is such a big thing.  I have wonderful friends that want to know when I’m having a hard day so that they can pray for me or even take the kids for a few hours!