Beautiful Work

Let the beauty of the Lord our God be upon us, and establish the work of our hands…. Psalm 90:17a

a more experienced WHaM – part 2 March 31, 2009

Filed under: Homemaking,Keeping inspired,Mothering,Wife-ing — Kate @ 6:00 am

Here are the remainder of LaNae’s answers!

How did you handle the changing seasons that come with our lives as WHAMS?

We have experienced a lot of change in our married life. Roland has had a couple of career changes. We’ve moved away from family. Roland has gone back to school, entered into full-time ministry… I think the key to my sanity amidst our many changes has been communication with Roland. We have not always been able to do a weekly date night, but we have made it a habit of talking for an hour or so after we put the kids down. During this time, we reconnect. We talk about our day. We encourage one another. I share the challenges of my day with Roland and get his input…How does he want me to handle this issue with the kids? Should I take on another ministry responsibility? Am I thinking on truth in this area? What should I let go of in my schedule?

What are helpful disciplines you implemented into your life to help with the daily tasks?

The most important discipline for me throughout motherhood has been daily time in the Word and prayer. Mothering young children is physically exhausting, so often it is tempting to eliminate that from our schedules when we are tired. But I would encourage you to do what it takes to make time for Bible study and prayer. We cannot hope to be intimate with the Lord or walk in the Spirit without it. We cannot be patient and loving with our children and husband on our own strength. We need the Word of Christ to richly dwell in us (Col. 3:16).

 

Leave a Reply

