Beautiful Work

Let the beauty of the Lord our God be upon us, and establish the work of our hands…. Psalm 90:17a

“Older” and wiser WHaM #2- Day 1 March 25, 2009

Filed under: Homemaking,Keeping inspired,Mothering,Wife-ing — Leah @ 6:00 am

Here is Day 1 of my interview with my “older” and wiser WHaM-friend Amy.  Amy is married and has three amazing daughters – 7th, 9th, and 11th grade.  Her life as a wife, homemaker and mother has greatly encouraged me and challenged me to be the very best mom that I can.  Amy and her husband have raised three daughters who love and serve God with their whole heart and I have been looking forward to sharing her interview answers with you- – – SO, here they are! 

What advice or encouragement would you give a young woman who is newer in her journey as a wham?
You won’t regret the investment you make in your children. Be consistent—although there are days where it feels like you’re not making any progress, consistency pays off in the long run. You will reap great rewards in the future. (I promise!) And don’t forget to have fun and laugh with those little ones. 

Put your husband first, before the children. So many times our hubbies get the shaft because we’re nurturing those very needy children of ours, but the truth is there will be a time in life when the kids are grown and gone and you’ll only have each other. Foster your friendship.

Don’t compare yourself to other moms who always seem to have it all together. God created you to be your child’s mother. You are uniquely equipped and suited for the job! Yes, look for opportunities to glean ideas and encouragement (I’m guessing that’s why you read this blog), but don’t imagine that there is a perfect mom out there. We all have strengths and weaknesses. (I joke with my teens, “Hey, put it on the list of things to get counseling for later. J) Be humbled by your weaknesses and encouraged in your strengths. Yes, strive to be the best mom you can be for your kids. Just don’t be too hard on yourself. Give yourself grace.

What are helpful disciplines you implemented into your life to help with the daily tasks?
I’m a girl who needs a plan! It’s true that plans are easily thwarted by a crying baby or needy toddler, but it’s been helpful for me to have an idea of what I’d like to accomplish for the day. I’m a list maker.  To be able to check off “load dishwasher” or “make dinner” is a motivation for me. Also, breaking down household chores into daily to-dos is helpful. When my girls were very young I made a little pocket chart with 3×5 cards. Each 3×5 card had the name of a specific chore and resided in 4 or 5 clear pockets for that day. I’d fill out the chart at the beginning of each week and the flip the cards over as the day progressed and the chores were done. (If I didn’t get a chore done I either moved the card to a different day or just flipped anyway. One week without dusting isn’t going to hurt. : )

In another season of life I made a daily check-off list of all my daily chores (laundry, load/unload dishwasher, sweep kitchen) and left space for weekly and seasonal chores (dusting, changing sheets, vacuum furniture) and my menu plan. I found chore planners at Motivated Moms helpful for gleaning ideas.

A daily quiet time was a discipline we implemented early on. As a mom, I needed to know I had a quiet moment to look forward to. I’d feed the girls their lunch and they’d be off to quiet time. Then I’d eat lunch at a leisurely pace by myself, usually with a good book to read. Pure bliss! Quiet time started with just 15 minutes (we set a timer) when the girls were very young and gradually grew to an hour as the girls developed the discipline. I’d save special toys or books for their quiet time. My only rule was they had to be in their room on their bed and quiet. (Books on tape were perfect for quiet time!) I found the girls came to enjoy this time, and we all came away more refreshed and ready to take on the afternoon.

Part 2 tomorow!  PLEASE comment any questions you might have, I’ll pass them on!

 

Leave a Reply

