Beautiful Work

Let the beauty of the Lord our God be upon us, and establish the work of our hands…. Psalm 90:17a

Oops. March 17, 2009

Filed under: Comic relief,Decorating — Andie @ 6:08 am

sorry friends, I spaced the blog yesterday! You know that phrase “I was putting out fires all day” Well, it was literal and figurative for me yesterday! Yesterday morning I lit a nice vanilla candle and was relatively sure that Byron wasn’t going to bug it. After all, he was looking at it and constantly saying “hot, hot” which means that he knows not to touch it. What he didn’t know, apparently, was that you are also not supposed to touch anything ELSE to the fire. It seems what happened (of course I was in the other room….) is that Byron stuck a birthday card over the flame. I didn’t get wind of this until my smoke detector went off and and my buffet had a flaming card and napkin on it. I freaked out for a minute and tried to smother it with my large sweatshirt sleeve. This was ineffective (and generally a bad idea). Then, I grabbed the first thing I saw on the floor, Byron’s blanket, doused it in water and threw it over the flames. That worked (put this in your memory bank, ladies) on the 6-8 inch diameter fire. My buffet was only charred, and Byron’s blanket survived after a wash.

In other news, I was in charge of decorating for my friend Easten’s wedding last Saturday. We made topiaries like this one for reception centerpieces. I got the pot at ikea for $.50 and the rest of the stuff at save-on-crafts.com (great site!!) for $8 or $9 or so per table.

dsc_0013_600x896shkl

 

2 Responses to “Oops.”

  1. Debby Says:

    Your life is the opposite of dull. I’m so glad everyone survived it all!!

    Beautiful centerpiece!!

  2. Jane Says:

    Wow! I am glad everyone is ok! This must be the buffet that you had a picture of here last week?
    Aaron was telling me not too long ago to just expect that Owen will want to play with matches, and fire and anything pertaining to fire as he gets older. He told me some stories of things he did as a kid and it really freaked me out that my little boy is going to want to do those things! Boys….
    I do like the center piece. :)


Leave a Reply

