Beautiful Work

Let the beauty of the Lord our God be upon us, and establish the work of our hands…. Psalm 90:17a

The only way to really enjoy zucchini. March 3, 2009

Filed under: Recipes — Leah @ 6:00 am

Here is a recipe that was given to my husband’s Aunt as a wedding present.  She in turn has given to many brides- myself included.  Now, I know that we all have that recipe for Zucchini Bread that we always use- but here is one that I think you should test drive next time next time you make some.  (I’m not sure how healthy this thing is…with ONE CUP of oil and all….but zucchini is a veggie, right?!)

Zucchini Bread

3 eggs

1 cup oil

2 cups sugar

2 cups grated zucchini

3 t. vanilla

1 t. salt

1 t. baking soda

3 t. cinnamon

3 cups sifted flour

1/4 t. baking powder

1/2 – 1 cup chopped nuts

Beat eggs until light and foamy.  Add sugar, oil, zucchini, and vanilla.  Mix lightly, but well.  Add dry ingredients (salt, soda, cinnamon, flour, and baking powder) sifted together.  Blend.  Add nuts.  Bake at 325 degrees for 1 hour.  Makes 2 loaves.

zucchini1024For fresh (and CHEAP) zucchini all year-round:  at the end of zucchini season grate up your (or your neighbor’s) excess zucchini and freeze it in 2 cup bags.  Just pull one out to defrost whenever you want to make a loaf.

For super-moist bread: as soon as you can get your bread out of it’s loaf pans, wrap it in plastic wrap while it is still very VERY warm.  This keeps all the moisture INSIDE your bread as it cools, rather than it all evaporating into the air.  This works great for pumpkin and banana breads too!

 

One Response to “The only way to really enjoy zucchini.”

  1. ktbooper Says:

    I’m pretty sure I have AT LEAST 12 cups of frozen shredded zucchini in my freezer still! I don’t even think I will plant ANY in my garden this year :) I will have to pull some out to try this bread though … sounds delish!


Leave a Reply

