Beautiful Work

Let the beauty of the Lord our God be upon us, and establish the work of our hands…. Psalm 90:17a

Swiffer, Be Mine! February 3, 2009

Filed under: cleaning — Leah @ 8:00 am

When I was first married I cleaned every Friday.  Mess or no mess, my home got cleaned…top to bottom, inside and out…CLEAN.  Three kids later, my standards haven’t changed as much as the level of filth that I am often forced to accept has changed.  I can’t always clean when I want to.  Sometimes the bathroom just has to wait a day.  I’ve tried cleaning during the kids’ rest time.  But in the end, I was dirty and tired when they woke up and the house was only half done.

A friend pointed out to me that she cleans when her kids are awake.  “Woah” I thought, “That’s a wild idea.”  Then I realized that it might be an important thing for them to see me do…after all they regularly participate in the mess making!  So now I swiffer it.  I use the long handled duster to do my living room and ceiling fans, clorox wipes to do the bathroom, and after vacuuming I hit the kitchen and bathroom floors with the swiffer wet sweeper.

At first it was hard for me to shell out the extra $ to buy products with the cleaning chemicals already on them, but after seeing that I can clean without worrying about my kids eating the comet when my back is turned, I gladly spend the extra $!  The ease of use is the other reason for my love affair with the Swifferness.  It’s hard for me to get in the cleaning zone when the kids are running around, so the easier it is for me, the better!

I heart Swiffer.

:-)

 

Leave a Reply

