Beautiful Work

Let the beauty of the Lord our God be upon us, and establish the work of our hands…. Psalm 90:17a

list mania January 15, 2009

Filed under: Homemaking — Kate @ 6:00 am

It’s rather ironic that we are writing about organization this week as I feel like it has been a rather UNorganized week.  I am still struggling to get back into a ‘normal’ after our crazy amounts of snow for 3 weeks straight, the holidays and just our break from routine! 

Just an example of my scatteredness … I’ve had a few books to go back to the library and shoes to exchange at Target for a week now (the library and Target are down the street from each other.)  I have gone out multiple times in that direction and forgotten to take them with me.  Last night I got them into the car with me and then proceeded to drive by the library TWICE before remembering to stop and drop off the books that were sitting on the seat next to me!  Even though I had made a ‘To Do’ list that day, I still had some lapses in my memory. 

THAT said, lists are one of my favorite organizational tools!  I write down things to do, grocery lists, meal ideas, things to pack, gift ideas, ideas for activities, things I need to remember in the morning, etc!  I keep 2 magnetic memo pads ($1 bins at Michaels) on my fridge next to my calendar so they are easy to grab and easy to see.  Not only does writing things down help me to remember them, it also helps me see the progress that I am making as I cross them off!  This can be such an encouragement to me as I do things around the house that seem small (and may seem like they are undone by kids w/in a few minutes.)  Happy listing!

 

Leave a Reply

