Beautiful Work

Let the beauty of the Lord our God be upon us, and establish the work of our hands…. Psalm 90:17a

The Semi-Structured Week January 13, 2009

Filed under: Household tips,Mothering,Wife-ing — Leah @ 6:00 am

my_brain_is_full1Typically, I lean toward the more structured side of life.  I like things organized, findable, and definitely predicable.  But somewhere in the chaos of becoming a mother (and a mother of twins right off the bat) I lost my ability to structure my days and weeks as I desired.  I simply cannot keep up with trying to 1) make a schedule, 2) keep that schedule, and 3) be okay with revamping that schedule when it doesn’t go as planned.  SO, what have I done instead?  I keep a loose outline of the week in my mind.  Sometime on Sunday afternoon or evening I sit down and purposefully think through what is going on during the upcoming week, what things MUST get done, what things I want to get done, and something that I’d simply like to do that week.  I try to put only one of my personal goals on each day (cleaning, shopping, laundry or  cooking/baking project).  For the kids I like to do a craft (let’s use that term loosely!) one day, a lengthy outdoor activity another, a messy indoor activity on another (GAK, painting, cutting, etc), a playdate on another day…and because I work one morning a week (and the kids get ‘free’ Bible preschool while I work) the week is suddenly full!

This might sound like a lot to store in the over full brain of the Mommy- but really it’s only two things to remember and try to accomplish each day.  I can handle that.  :-)

(I do envy that board you have Andie!  Ooohhh, that is a thing of beauty!!!!)

 

Leave a Reply

