Beautiful Work

Let the beauty of the Lord our God be upon us, and establish the work of our hands…. Psalm 90:17a

Means of Grace January 6, 2009

Filed under: Keeping inspired — Gretchen @ 10:01 pm

After spending the last week and a half with my family at home with no major issues or responsiblities I have come to a new perspective.  I realized I had been really fighting to keep my head above water with all my new responsibilities and in dealing with some gut wrenching situations.  It seems my load had been significantly increased and I was struggling.  The break gave me time to really ponder and implement much needed changes so here they are along with the means God has supplied to help:

  • Daily Bible reading – an 8 year old accountability partner (we read the same thing and talk about it)
  • Being ready for the day – an alarm clock to get up (yes I actually had to go buy a new one)
  • Stamina – a Christmas present of a YWCA membership
  • Simplicity – a quote from the book by Carolyn Mahaney reminding me that my priorities should be God, my husband, and my kids
  • Schedule – I now think in terms of half hour increments, each half hour is planned out (not that I abide by that but I have a backbone to my day and the kids always are moving from one thing to the next)
 

2 Responses to “Means of Grace”

  1. ktbooper Says:

    Oooh, the 8 year old accountability partner sounds wonderful and humbling at the same time. I do look forward to sharing those times and conversations more frequently with my kids though!
    What Carolyn Mahaney book were you reading?

  2. chefgirlymoon Says:

    Girl Talk is the book I am reading. It is good and contains some great resources.


Leave a Reply

