Beautiful Work

Let the beauty of the Lord our God be upon us, and establish the work of our hands…. Psalm 90:17a

System overload November 17, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Andie @ 2:21 pm

Just a couple weeks ago, I talked with the ladies in my small group about how some Mondays I just feel so scattered and like, “how am I supposed to encourage other women to be whams when I feel like I’m losing my mind?” Today is one such day. 

For amusement, I will relay the events of the past 30 minutes or so. It all started with my first mistake: keeping the kids out past normal nap time (1 pm). I did not stay past 2, which I know is THE latest my children can survive before naps. It was more like 1:20 or so when we left. I told Ruth in the car that I needed to use the bathroom right away when we got home. She, of course, decided that she needed to go, too. This should have been fine, since we do have two bathrooms. But being overtired, Ruth could not handle the idea of my not coming with her and helping. She started screaming and crying about how she needed me to come and she would listen to no reasoning. Meanwhile, I HAD TO GO. So, most of this conversation (read: meltdown) was had through the bathroom door as Byron intermittently opened and closed it. Then, came the clincher. In an attempt to get some privacy, I gently closed the door….. on Byron’s finger. Now I had two wailing children on my hands and I was still indisposed. These are the mothering moments that you think, “Can…. not… function…. system…. overload” (to be said in computerized house alarm voice) and you laugh for lack of anything better to do. I’m not exactly sure what happened after that, but I kept my cool and somehow everyone stopped screaming and we are all in our beds for a nap. 

I think I’m going to regroup now, and try to remember what this week’s topic was going to be. And, I hope that all of you can rest assured that just because we write a blog about being whams, it doesn’t mean that things always run smoothly at our homes or we have perfect priorities all the time.

 

Leave a Reply

