Beautiful Work

Let the beauty of the Lord our God be upon us, and establish the work of our hands…. Psalm 90:17a

Thanksgiving traditions & recipes November 10, 2008

Filed under: Holidays — Andie @ 7:38 pm

My little family is still working on establishing holiday traditions. Having consistent traditions is such a sweet and fun thing for everyone, especially children. I became all the more convinced of this after reading Noel Piper’s book Treasuring God in Our Traditions. Her book doesn’t address Thanksgiving, sadly. But if you pick it up now, you’ll have some good ideas for Christmas and Easter.

I started one tradition a few years ago when I was hosting three Taiwanese students and my parents. (Hosting International students is a fun tradition in itself!) I was a little afraid that we weren’t going to have anything to talk about at the table. So, I wrote down questions on little pieces of paper and put them in a basket to draw out. One that I remember is, “What was one of the best times in your life?” I like to mix questions like this up with some lighter ones like, “What is one funny memory you had growing up?” And, “What is your favorite Thanksgiving food?”

This little conversation game kept us sitting around the table much longer that we would have otherwise. It is also helpful if your Thanksgiving guests don’t know each other very well or don’t have much in common.

And, here is my favorite stuffing/dressing recipe that Gretchen found on allrecipes a few years ago. FYI, we usually omit the liver and just use seasoned croutons instead of cutting up our own bread squares.

 

One Response to “Thanksgiving traditions & recipes”

  1. Brianne Says:

    oh yay! I am so glad you’re going to do some posts on Thanksgiving ideas. I LOVE Thanksgiving…but it gets too easily pushed aside by all of the other things going on at this time of year.

    So, speaking of traditions – remember those thankful-hand-turkeys we used to do at Whitworth? I do those every year with my family now! It is a really fun way to look back not only at the blessings of the year (and years past!) but also to look back on the physical growth of my kids, since the turkeys are bigger each year! I laminate them after Thanksgiving to make sure they’ll last for years to come.


Leave a Reply

