Beautiful Work

Let the beauty of the Lord our God be upon us, and establish the work of our hands…. Psalm 90:17a

Odds and Ends. October 13, 2008

Filed under: cleaning,Homemaking,Household tips,Meal Planning,Recipes — Leah @ 9:27 pm

I thought I would toss out my methods for making Apple Butter and Pumpkin Butter as well as a favorite product I failed to include before.  (See, I told you it was Odds and Ends.)

For our Apple Butter I used this recipe as a base and adjusted the spices as we saw fit (no mace, but rather added nutmeg and some ground clove).  We also added more cinnamon that the recipe originally called for. The taste and texture of Apple Butter can vary so much from batch to batch- feel free to adjust your spices depending on the sweetness of the apples you are using as well as the taste you know your family prefers!    We’ve actually bought some with a Smucker’s label before that was so spice filled that we actually never finished the jar!  We tend to like ours a little med-low on spice, but high on sweetness.  :-)

Since I haven’t made my Pumpkin Butter yet I can’t vouch for a recipe…but here is the one that I plan on using as my base.  Personally, if the end result is something that tastes like a spreadable pie- it will be a success for me!

And lastly, the product I completely forgot to toss into my earlier post:  The Mr. Clean Magic Eraser.  I use it to get the stubborn finger prints off the outside of the fridge and the pen marks off the top of my kids’ small table.  It seems to be the only thing that will get them off!  I love it!

 

One Response to “Odds and Ends.”

  1. Jen Says:

    Leah, I love the magic eraser! In fact, I need to go buy some more!


Leave a Reply

