Beautiful Work

Let the beauty of the Lord our God be upon us, and establish the work of our hands…. Psalm 90:17a

Encouraging your husband October 13, 2008

Filed under: Wife-ing — Andie @ 2:10 pm

Hey ladies, for a few weeks here we’re going to talk about how we take care of our marriages by encouraging our husbands. (And I asked a few of the ladies to talk about how to do this while their husbands travel, too.)

One of the number one ways I encourage my husband?? Buy new lingerie. I think it’s pretty self-explanatory so I won’t go into details. However, I did want to share and get some input on where you can find cute and inexpensive lingerie.  And, for you single ladies, hopefully this will be useful for all those showers you have to go to! When I was in college and friends got married, we all thought Victoria’s Secret (aka. Vickie’s) was the only acceptable place to buy lingerie. But, unless you get a sale it’s really expensive. I was informed that the big sales (like 80% off) happen in the spring and in the fall, basically not near most people’s weddings, Christmas or Valentine’s Day. So, keep a lookout. I wouldn’t suggest getting the emails or mailers because having mostly naked beautiful women showing up on your computer or in your mailbox is not a way to encourage your husband. Other places I’ve found cute lingerie: Kohl’s, Target, and Sears. I haven’t found the bras at these places to be very comfy, though. For those, Gap Body’s clearance rack is nice and not as spendy as your usual Vickie’s fare.

I know buying lingerie can seem frivolous, but I always think anything that is going to build up my marriage is worth the expense. My last suggestion… have a girl’s night out to buy lingerie. You’ll get some good giggles in addition to encouraging your husband.

 

4 Responses to “Encouraging your husband”

  1. andie Says:

    Anyone gonna back me up here? You can comment anonymously!

  2. Anonymous Says:

    Okay. I really did enable anonymous comments now. So you don’t have to be embarrassed to tell me where you find your lingerie! Andie

  3. Anonymous Says:

    Marshalls can be a great place to find discount, frilly things, although my husband usually is pretty quick to take them off, so I don’t usually get something like that. A cute pair of underwear (like from Target) does the trick too :)

  4. Kristi Says:

    From a single girl’s perspective, if I have to buy a shower gift I never go to Victoria’s Secret…My goal is for my shower gifts for friends to be both attractive/elegant/cute but also tasteful and I have a hard time finding this kind of thing at Vickie’s. : ) However I usually will start at JC Penney, which has great sales throughout the year, and also will go to TJ Maxx, or other department stores at the mall. For a recent personal shower gift, I went to Penney’s and got a nice lingerie-ish thing but then also got a cute pair of “regular” flannel pants and matching shirt kind of thing. Not that I would know personally but I would imagine there are days when you just want to look cute without the lingerie. : )


Leave a Reply

