Beautiful Work

Let the beauty of the Lord our God be upon us, and establish the work of our hands…. Psalm 90:17a

Thrifty Gift Idea. October 8, 2008

My latest endeavor to try to save some pennies here and there is….canning!  We did some U-pick apple picking a few weeks ago and I ‘promptly’ made several jars of applesauce (it qualifies as a cheap side dish for dinner in my mind when it’s homemade…), and lots of Apple-Butter!  I’m planning on canning Pumpkin Butter soon also.  The butters will be part of the gift giving we will be doing this Thanksgiving/Christmas for our friends and neighbors.  Overall, I think it will be a great little gift- homemade, yummy, relatively cheap (thus, enabling us to give to more people), and somewhat unusual.  This is my rookie year as a canner and I aim to can peaches and pears next year too, as well as pickle some green beans (from the garden) and make some pickles (also from the garden).  I’m personally enjoying the canning itself and like that the things we are able to can are elevating the quality of side dishes we eat….and Ooooh, do we love pumpkin butter!  :-)

 

2 Responses to “Thrifty Gift Idea.”

  1. ktbooper Says:

    Ooh, I just did my first canning this week too! I did tomato sauce which will hopefully be fun to use through the winter. The canning process wasn’t as painful as I thought it might be :) We are hoping to pick apples sometime in the next few weeks and I think I’ll try some apple butter too. What recipe are you a fan of??

  2. Jennifer D. Says:

    Apple butter and pumpkin butter sound soooo good. Do you have a good recipe?


Leave a Reply

