Beautiful Work

Let the beauty of the Lord our God be upon us, and establish the work of our hands…. Psalm 90:17a

Money Saving Tips October 7, 2008

Filed under: Holidays,Saving money — Gretchen @ 8:27 am

The only thing that came to mind recently that I do to save money has to do with Christmas :)  When we were first married it was a shock to me when December rolled around and we had a tiny budget to buy so many gifts with.  My list for gifts also doubled with a whole new family set to buy for :)  Over the years our list has greatly increased with a very fruitful family that expands yearly (our kids and nieces and nephews – such a blessing).  I used to think woman who bought Christmas gifts year round were crazy, but now I confess that I am always on the lookout for gifts.  Not really even just Christmas gifts.  If I see something that I know someone will like and it is on sale I buy it.  There are amazing sales out there right now at Target and I just bought most of my girls’ stocking stuffers at 75% off the normal price.  This also eases the budget a little when December rolls around because I have been paying a little all year.  I love giving gifts and am very craft challenged so this helps.  This strategy has also helped to not get caught up in impulse buying and the other economic ramifications of Christmas.  It frees me up to enjoy the season and have time to reflect on why we give in the first place.

 

Leave a Reply

