Beautiful Work

Let the beauty of the Lord our God be upon us, and establish the work of our hands…. Psalm 90:17a

It’s Chai season! September 26, 2008

Filed under: Recipes — Andie @ 11:52 am

This chai mix has gotten SO MANY good reviews in my home and been passed on to most who have tried it. I wanted to share this recipe (also below) which saves some money if you like hot drinks. Also, for those of you who might be concerned about so much sugar, I substitute fructose, which you can find at iherb.com. It is a natural sweetener that doesn’t raise your blood sugar like refined sugar. I have not nailed down the exact amount to use, but I’d try 1 1/2 cups for this recipe. When using fructose I also put about 3 heaping tablespoons in my drink. Just experiment if your chai seems too watery. 

   

Chai Tea Mix
Submitted by: Jo
Rated: 5 out of 5 by 445 members
Prep Time: 30 Minutes
Cook Time: 2 Minutes
Ready In: 32 Minutes
Yields: 36 servings
“A dry mix for instant Chai tea that you can keep on hand for those frequent Chai tea emergencies. It’s also a popular gift.”
INGREDIENTS:
1 cup nonfat dry milk powder
1 cup powdered non-dairy
creamer
1 cup French vanilla flavored
powdered non-dairy creamer
2 1/2 cups white sugar
1 1/2 cups unsweetened
instant tea
2 teaspoons ground ginger
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground cloves
1 teaspoon ground cardamom
DIRECTIONS:
1. In a large bowl, combine milk powder, non-dairy creamer, vanilla flavored creamer, sugar and instant tea. Stir in ginger, cinnamon, cloves and cardamom. In a blender or food processor, blend 1 cup at a time, until mixture is the consistency of fine powder.
2. To serve: Stir 2 heaping tablespoons Chai tea mixture into a mug of hot water.
ALL RIGHTS RESERVED © 2008 Allrecipes.com Printed from Allrecipes.com 9/26/2008
Click here to find out more!
 

5 Responses to “It’s Chai season!”

  1. MrsMofatta Says:

    Oh my goodness, we just pulled ours out for the year (we made a BUNCH last year) and we are so excited that the Chai season is upon us again. We LOVE this recipe. Nice work posting this one, Andie! I’m glad more people will get to enjoy all the goodness it brings!

  2. Kate Says:

    Ooh, I’m so excited that it’s Chai season again! We made mixes last year in MOPS and it was WONDERFUL to bring home and enjoy :) I think we’ll make a BIG batch to enjoy all winter long this year … thanks for the reminder Andie!

  3. Jessica Says:

    I’m excited to make this for my tea lovin’ hubby, and for guests, too. Thanks for sharing. I’m liking this new blog, by the way. I’m finally getting around to linking to it on my blog.

  4. ktbooper Says:

    Yesterday I made a double recipe for this winter! It was so great to sit down and enjoy a cup after mixing it all up too :) I made it with only 1 3/4 cups sugar and added in the 1tsp nutmeg and 1 tsp allspice that were recommended @ allrecipes.com … yum!

  5. Andie, thanks for the awesome recipe! I’m drinking some now as I play scrabble! :) My blood sugar is going up now, but next time I’d like to try the fructose.


Leave a Reply

