Beautiful Work

Let the beauty of the Lord our God be upon us, and establish the work of our hands…. Psalm 90:17a

A simple gift September 18, 2008

Filed under: Extending Kindness,Homemaking,Keeping inspired — Kate @ 3:53 pm

Simple.  It’s just not a word that I would choose to describe myself.  I love to be doing things and moving and interacting with people.  And yet, God commands us to “Be STILL and know that I am God.”  Ps 46:10  Truly I MUST slow myself down so that I can focus on who God is and learn from Him.  When I think of ways that I try to simplify (note: I feel like this is constant work!) they all come down to what I am prioritizing.  

One of the biggest areas that I try to simplify is gift giving!  I love to give gifts!  In this stage of life (commiting to be a stay-at-home-mom) there is not a big budget for gifts.  This has helped me to realize that I love to make gifts!  It is so fun to put time and love (something I DO have!) into a gift for someone.  This might mean a homemade gift or a handmade card with a personal note/letter inside it.  They are simple things usually, but I try to find a way to help meet a need (physical or emotional!)  I want to be able to prioritize the people that I am giving to, and not the gift itself.  Am I able to show my love for God and my love for others in giving them a simple gift?  Absolutely!

 

One Response to “A simple gift”

  1. Katie Says:

    Kate,

    I remember (and have) many of the hand-made cards you made for me….they were always very encouraging.

    Thanks.


Leave a Reply

