Beautiful Work

Let the beauty of the Lord our God be upon us, and establish the work of our hands…. Psalm 90:17a

Just say….YES! September 10, 2008

Filed under: Mothering,who we are,Wife-ing — Leah @ 5:00 am

Who’s the optimist in your house?  The optimist in ours tells me that I am the ‘realist’ (err, pessimist- for your other ‘realists’ out there!).  During the week, when the optimist is at work, my kids are left at home with their ‘realist’ mother.  It becomes very easy for me to focus on the things in my kids’ behavior that I would like to see fixed….in other words, they hear a lot of “No, Sam…” and “Stop doing that, Maggie….”.  I have to make a choice in my day to fight my negative impulses and seek out ways to encourage my kids.  I want them to hear more “Yes you may, Sam!” and “Good Job, Maggie!” – than “No!”.  SO, Mom’s who forget to say “Yes!”- step out and do it!  Encourage your kids (and maybe even your spouse too!) and be blessed by the change it makes in your home that day!

 

One Response to “Just say….YES!”

  1. ktbooper Says:

    Oh so true! It is a challenge for me to be positive with the kids too. I find myself having to think ahead of what the kids are doing so that I end things on a good note, give them choices that I am okay with them making and can say ‘yes’ when they ask things! Thanks for sharing! :)


Leave a Reply

