Beautiful Work

Let the beauty of the Lord our God be upon us, and establish the work of our hands…. Psalm 90:17a

preparing to be a mom September 4, 2008

Filed under: If you're single,Mothering — Kate @ 2:35 pm

Well, I have to echo what Andie shared … there is nothing to get you ready for mothering like being with kids!  One of the biggest things that helped me get a view for what parenting was like was watching some friend’s children for a weekend while they were gone!  I wish I had made time to do that more often before I was married with children of my own.

I think a big thing that I did (and wish I had done more!) that helped prepare me for kids was to memorize scripture!  The pace of life and the amount of time that you have to yourself changes drastically once you are a mom.  Having verses that I know is a great tool as I am going through out my busy day.  Sometimes they are about being a mom, but many times they are just about being Christlike.  These benefit me (what should I be thinking on?  why do I do what I do? etc) and also my kids (what should I be teaching my kids and why?)

I was talking with a friend (and fellow WHAM) this weekend about how creative we have to be as mothers!  (Don’t worry, I’m not talking arts and crafts, although that doesn’t hurt either!)  We are constantly thinking of ways to get things done with our kids, ways to teach them, ways to train them and how to encourage them (I could go on and on ….)  It takes creativity to be a mom!  So be creative with your planning.  As you organize your day think outside of the box and try new things!  Something as simple as packing a picnic dinner and taking your studying to a park is a great way to get practice using those creative and organizational gifts!

 

Leave a Reply

