Beautiful Work

Let the beauty of the Lord our God be upon us, and establish the work of our hands…. Psalm 90:17a

Before you are married… August 28, 2008

Filed under: If you're single,Wife-ing — Kate @ 10:08 am

Ooh, what a fun topic!  There is so much that I am glad that I did/learned before I was married and yet so much more that I could have done to prepare also!  (Is anyone really ever ‘ready’?)

Learn to budget!  While it doesn’t seem all that necessary while single, it is oh sooo needed in a marriage!  I was budget-minded before I was married and aware of what I spent, but had never lived on my own and actually written out a budget until a few years after Matt and I were married!  It has been such a good thing for us to work together on our budget.  I can only imagine how wonderful it would be to come into marriage with some knowledge and practice already!   Stay out of credit card debt and think about saving (what a great thing to come into a marriage with some money for an emergency fund, a wedding, car or house!)

Learn to process and share things with other people.  Seems like basic communication, but it’s vital to a marriage!  You can practice this in a small Bible study, with a mentor/discipler, with your mom or even just a close girlfriend.

Be prepared for the ‘everyday’ of life.  Like the other gals have mentioned, cleaning, cooking, dishes, and laundry are all things that must be done!  Practice them … even if it’s just in a dorm room :)  You can always come practice at my house too ;)  It’s fun to talk and work at the same time!

 

Leave a Reply

