Beautiful Work

Let the beauty of the Lord our God be upon us, and establish the work of our hands…. Psalm 90:17a

Preparing for Marriage August 26, 2008

Filed under: If you're single,Wife-ing — Gretchen @ 12:42 pm

Some things I did while I was single that helped prepare me for marriage were:

  • Lived with others (roommates)
  • had a loose plan for my life with desires and goals
  • took advantage of as many Bible studies or classes I could
  • learned how to live within a budget

Some things I wish I would have done:

  • spent more time investing in relationships with girls
  • learned how to cook and clean (my Mom worked more than full time and I really never learned what it was to cook or clean every day.  I learned all I know from the internet out of necessity.  I really wish I would have valued taking care of a home a lot more than I did.)
  • spent time with married people and families outside of social gatherings – I wish I would have helped out moms and had an older couple already in my life before I was married.  I wish I would have entertained families to serve them and also to prepare myself for what life would be like when I wasn’t throwing big parties for single people or going out all the time.  I had quite a shock after marriage :)

Well here are just a few little tips that I think of when asked what are some things to do to prepare for marriage :)  I had a very high view of doing and a very low view of what it means to be a woman.  I  actually had no idea of what it meant to be a woman :)  The Lord is gracious to humble us and teach us and I am so thankful for His patient guidance of me.  Becoming a wife and mother has been one of the most humbling and beautiful processes the Lord is taking me through.  God is faithful!!

 

Leave a Reply

