Beautiful Work

Let the beauty of the Lord our God be upon us, and establish the work of our hands…. Psalm 90:17a

A Mom’s Perspective August 20, 2008

Filed under: Keeping inspired,Mothering — jen1mac @ 12:51 pm

My perspective as a mom keeps changing over the years.  I have learned to let go of the little things and focus on the big things for my kids.  The most important thing for me as a mom is to raise my kids in godliness.  That is my most important job here on this earth.  That is how I rate myself as a mom.  If I am not focusing on teaching my kids and instructing them in biblical wisdom then I need to look at where my perspective as a mom has strayed.  I think so many times we as moms can get busy in “good” things such as women’s bible study, kid’s sports, MOPS, Once A Month Cooking, etc… and neglect what is our primary role as a mom which is teaching and discipling our kids.  I am not saying that those things mentioned are not good things and that you can’t do them but if it is taking you away from your primary role than you might want to re-think things.  I know especially being a pastor’s wife I felt like I always had to say yes to things or had to be at every church event but another wise pastor’s wife told me where my priorities should be and that is to my husband and my kids first.  Then, if that was taken care of I could add the others as I saw fit.  Life is a vapor and our kids grow up so fast.  We need to take each moment with them and cherish it and use it for God’s glory.  When we lost our daughter Abby I vowed to focus on the precious moments with my kids more and to not worry so much about having the perfect house and the laundry all done.  In light of eternity what is more important, singing Amazing Grace at the top of your lungs and dancing around the room with your kids or having a Martha Stewart home?!

 

Leave a Reply

