Beautiful Work

Let the beauty of the Lord our God be upon us, and establish the work of our hands…. Psalm 90:17a

Waiting… August 13, 2008

Filed under: Homemaking,Household tips — Gretchen @ 1:20 am

Here are a few of my little tricks I have learned over the years…

1.  Be willing to wait.  All seasonal items will go on sale and be marked  down up to 90% off at every store.  Kids sandals go way down,  swimsuits, vinyl table cloths.

2.  Learn where your favorite stores keep their clearance items and visit there every time you go to that store.  I have found curtains on sale at Potterybarn for $10 when they are normally $89 just by checking in there often.  I also am addicted to the clearance shelves at Target.

3.  Set up an email account for receiving “junk” email from stores.  Most major stores send out emails letting you know when they have sales so you just sign up and then you know when to hit that sale.  I sign up for every store I can think of and learn when the actual good sales are.  Like Bath and Body works is running a sale for their soap which is 5 for $15, this is a good deal if you need soap now but it will go on sale for 5 for $10.  If you have Nordstrom rack I always find good deals on shoes for kids and clothes for me.  I get their postcard in the mail which lets me know when they receive new items and when they are having a major sale.  I also buy Clinique foundation and will get emails telling me when they are giving away their “gift” bag when you purchase like $25 worth of make-up from them.  These are great and I always get like at least 6 months worth of make-up from the gift bag.  Junk emails can be good!

4.  Children’s Place has amazing sales.  Always check them out when advertising for a sale.

5.  Know what food items you like to regularly stock and know where to get them for the cheapest price.  I go to several different stores for different items like bread, medicine, cleaning supplies from Target and meat and produce from Rainbow and milk, tortillas, cheese, produce from Costco.

Well there are just a few of my tips on deals.  I would love to hear more tips or websites.  I have recently ventured into different websites that alert readers as to where the deals are or where to get coupons.  If anyone knows how to work that I would love to hear more about it!

 

Leave a Reply

