Beautiful Work

Let the beauty of the Lord our God be upon us, and establish the work of our hands…. Psalm 90:17a

Loving my Kids August 6, 2008

Filed under: Mothering — jen1mac @ 4:07 am

Okay, here is a question.  How do you love a child who will not love you back?  That is what we are dealing with at our house.  How do you as a parent love your child unconditionally?  I thought I did love my kids unconditionally until I was rejected by one or sometimes more of my kids.  They said or did things that hurt me and it was hard to love them back.  So I had to regroup and rethink my parenting.  I had to truly look at how Christ loves us unconditionally.  I know I fail Him over and over again and sometimes act like I do not love Him and yet He continues to show me grace and mercy and love.  So I have had to learn how to love with grace and mercy and love all the time even when my heart was hurt to the core because my kids needed to feel safe in my love in order to continue on.  You see I have kids who have been through so much grief and loss that most of us will never experience so what would it do to their hearts if I didn’t truly love them and continue to show them love every day.  How do I do it?  Only by the grace of God do I do it and no other way.

 

Leave a Reply

