Beautiful Work

Let the beauty of the Lord our God be upon us, and establish the work of our hands…. Psalm 90:17a

This week’s topic: My favorite cleaning supplies July 14, 2008

Filed under: cleaning,Household tips — Andie @ 6:41 pm

I am not a good housekeeper. Sometimes I make valiant efforts, other times I do not. Andrew really likes order and cleanliness and almost all I know about cleaning comes from his mother. I think I am at least much more aware of messes than I used to be, even if I don’t have the energy to take care of them right away :)

At any rate, I have to say that I use disinfectant wipes for just about everything. I used to think, “Oh, those are so expensive when I could just use a rag and spray.” Something I have learned about myself and my cleaning style is that I need it to be SUPER easy or I won’t do it. I finally broke down in the last year and began getting these wipes on a regular basis. To me, it’s worth the extra expense because I clean much more frequently. 

I like them because kids can use them, too. A woman at church gives her preschooler the daily chore of wiping down the bathroom with disinfectant wipes. This is appealing to me as I really want to start training my children to take part in making the household run. 

Another favorite cleaning item is baking soda. I buy the HUGE bag from Costco. It’s good for scrubbing things like tubs, sinks, refrigerators that have marker on them, or getting tarnish off silver. A combo of vinegar and baking soda goes a long way in helping cloth diapers smell fresh, too.

 

One Response to “This week’s topic: My favorite cleaning supplies”

  1. ktbooper Says:

    Thanks for the tip Andie! I totally tried the baking soda thing this week! Long story, but I had a few bracelets that were needing MUCH cleaning and the jewelry cleaner just wasn’t cutting it! Some baking soda w/water and an old toothbrush did the trick though! Now they are wearable again and shiny too :)


Leave a Reply

