Beautiful Work

Let the beauty of the Lord our God be upon us, and establish the work of our hands…. Psalm 90:17a

Talking to Cow June 5, 2008

Filed under: Mothering — Andie @ 5:35 pm

Sometimes, with a  2 1/2 year old, I feel that every interaction is an occasion for a crying fit (her, not me… though I FEEL like it). Today the screams started before nap time. Then, I asked Ruth to go get her stuffed cow. I told her stuffed cow about nap time and the cow talked to Ruth about wearing her pull-up. I was told that cow was sad to take a nap and then cow and I had a conversation about the merits of napping before going to the Farmer’s Market this afternoon. I just left Ruth’s room after asking her to make sure that she (I slipped it in) and cow take a good nap. We’ll see how this works. It’s much less confrontational and that’s something both Ruth and I could use!

 

Leave a Reply

